Essie ‘Gel Setter’

Hi everyone! Hope you are all having a great week! Essie has released a new product that it supposed to give you a gel-like manicure without all the hassle! I tried this out and wanted to share my thoughts!

I purchased my bottle from Meijer, but so far I have not seen this in any other stores yet. It can also be purchased from Essie.com. This nail polish costs $9-10 depending on where you get it from.

IMG_4447

Claims: “it’s a true innovation. just apply my gel.setter over any of my gorgeous nail colors to see plumper, shinier, gel-like color. no gel curing time. no lamp needed. easy removal” – Essie

IMG_4449

Essie claims that you can use any of their nail colors along with this – I used ‘Mod Square’

I took a picture each day to show you how my nails looked:
IMG_4410

This is right after application – looks very shiny and has a quick dry time which is a plus!


IMG_4434

Second day, still looking nice and shiny, and no chips!


IMG_4445

After the third day, there were still no chips on either hand!


IMG_4446

The fourth day is when it all went downhill….I had multiple chips 😦 You can see this hand had two (almost three) chipped nails, and the other hand had two as well. I did do some house cleaning this day, so this is likely what caused them to chip.

I didn’t take any more pics, because once my nails chip, I remove the polish.

My thoughts: So this ended up lasting me a good 3 1/2 days before it chipped. In my opinion, that’s nothing spectacular. But I do really like how my nails looked for the first three days. I will continue to use this polish since I’ve already bought it, but I don’t think I would ever repurchase 😦

Let me know if you have tried this and how it worked for you!

❤ Rylie

3 thoughts on “Essie ‘Gel Setter’

Leave a Reply

