Smashbox Insta-Matte

Hi everyone! Happy Friday, and happy 1st day of April! I cannot believe how fast this year is flying by! But this is my favorite time of year, so I am ready for it! Today I wanted to share a review on a new product that is getting a lot of buzz lately: the Smashbox “Insta-Matte Lipstick Transformer“. This is a gel-like formula that you are supposed to apply over any lipstick to turn it into a matte. Matte lips are all the rage right now, so I definitely think it is an intriguing product! Recently, I placed an online order from Sephora, and received a sample of the lipstick transformer.

IMG_1148

It is definitely a gel consistency, and you only need a little. The first downside of this product that I noticed was that even when I applied just a tiny amount, it caused my lipstick to smear. I tried a couple different lipstick formulas, and this still occurred. I suppose its not the end of the world, as long as you make sure it doesn’t smear onto your face!

IMG_1155

As for the question of whether or not it actually turns the lipstick to matte? I think it definitely does. Like I said, I tried this with a few different lipsticks, and some made more of a difference than others. One thing I do like about this is that even when it turns the lipstick matte, it is not drying whatsoever. It still feels a little creamy from the gel, but you get the matte appearance.

When it comes to lasting power, this held up for a good couple of hours. As I said above, my lips never felt dry, even after an hour or so.

In my honest opinion, I’m not sure that I would buy the full size of this. I love matte lips, but I’d almost rather buy a matte lipstick than spend $24 on this. But I definitely want to try it out more, and see if I can find some ways to make it not smudge my lipstick so much!

Let me know if you have tried this, and what your thoughts are!

❤ Rylie

4 thoughts on “Smashbox Insta-Matte

  1. I’ve heard you can use any silicone based primer like the make up for ever skin equalizer the Matte primer, the Porefessional primer and even Maybelline’s baby skin pore primer and get the same results 🙂 just in case you don’t wanna spend the 20 some bucks to purchase this product there is definitely other alternatives! Bummer about the smudging though :/ you’d think it being matte it would of prevented this right

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

